An Iberian Fanfare

for concert band



An Iberian Fanfare is comprised of two alternating themes. The first theme, a fanfare introduced by the trumpets and saxophones, is accompanied by bold and robust chords in the low voices while the high woodwinds and keyboard percussion ring out a short three note motive reminiscent of church bells. The second theme, hinted at earlier with the church bell motive, is a lyrical melody set against a sinister and ominous march in the low voices. The second theme is restated in a new texture before giving way to the return of the first theme. The first theme returns and is then restated with a key change while a fragment of the second theme radiates above the ensemble. The second theme returns in a more lyrical and undulating fashion before being overtaken by a cacophonous march reminiscent of Ravel’s Boléro and the third movement of Debussy’s Iberia. The first theme reappears one final time in the new key with its original texture and is extended by a short coda in which the ear is led awry by the final cadence.


Flute 1
Flute 2
Clarinet (B♭) 1
Clarinet (B♭) 2
Bass Clarinet (B♭)
Contra Alto Clarinet (E♭)
Alto Saxophone 1
Alto Saxophone 2
Tenor Saxophone (B♭)
Baritone Saxophone (E♭)
Trumpet (B♭) 1
Trumpet (B♭) 2
Horn (F)
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Euphonium (C)
Euphonium (B♭)
Chimes & Glockenspiel
Xylophone & Marimba
Triangle & Snare Drum
Suspended Cymbal, Bass Drum & Cabasa
Crash Cymbal, Castanets & Sleigh Bells

*Each percussion part requires only one player.

Perusal Score